August 21, 2012 | « back

James Taylor and Jimmy Buffet Featured on New Jesse Winchester Tribute Album


James Taylor and Jimmy Buffett are among the contributors to a new album paying homage to respected folk artist Jesse Winchester. Quiet About It: A Tribute to Jesse Winchester features 11 of the singer/songwriter’s tunes recorded by Taylor, Buffett and such other stars as Little Feat, Rosanne Cash, Lyle Lovett and Elvis Costello.

The album was organized by Buffett and Costello, who initiated the project after learning that Winchester was diagnosed with esophageal cancer last year. Since then, Jesse has undergone surgery and therapeutic treatment and, thankfully, his doctors have deemed him cancer-free. He currently has a handful of tour dates on his schedule.

Winchester is perhaps best known for his songs “Biloxi” and “Brand New Tennessee Waltz.” Over the years, his compositions have been recorded by Buffett, The Everly Brothers, Wilson Pickett, Joan Baez and many others.

Quiet About It currently is being sold as a digital download via iTunes and will be available for purchase at other online music sellers on September 3. The album also be released as a physical CD on September 25.

Here is the album’s full track list:

James Taylor, “Payday”
Rosanne Cash, “Biloxi”
Jimmy Buffett, “Gentleman of Leisure”
Allen Toussaint, “I Wave Bye Bye”
Vince Gill, “Talk Memphis”
Mac McAnally, “Defying Gravity”
Lyle Lovett, “Brand New Tennessee Waltz”
Lucinda Williams, “Mississippi You’re on My Mind”
Rodney Crowell (featuring Emmylou Harris and Vince Gill), “Dangerous Fun”
Little Feat, “Rhumba Man”
Elvis Costello, “Quiet About It”